a dogs purpose

I am so excited I finally got to read this book! I had wanted to see the movie that recently came out as well, but after the allegations of dog abuse on set, I opted to not give my money to see the movie. As excited as I was to see the movie, it was clear that it would be drastically different from the book.

A Dog’s Purpose is written by W. Bruce Cameron, who also wrote 8 Simple Rules for Dating my Teenage Daughter. His writing style is fun and he really knows how to hook you in the story and make you not want to put the book down. This book will make you smile, laugh, weep, and definitely make you look at your dog differently. He really captures how we would think a dog thinks and what a dog would want to say if he could speak.

This novel is about a dog that keeps coming back even after his earthly body dies. The dog can’t figure out why he keeps coming back, as he thinks his purpose is complete on Earth, but with each life he learns more and more about what his purpose is. He touches so many lives in each relatively short lifetime he has. His most prominent life is probably his second one, where he is found as a puppy and grows up with a little boy named Ethan. Ethan names the puppy Buddy and the two become inseparable and Buddy even saves the lives of his human family at one point. As the story follows Buddy and Ethan, it is impossible to not love how Cameron captures the human-dog bond.

If you own a dog or have ever owned a dog, you will absolutely love and relate to this book. Even if you have never owned a dog you will still fall in love with this book, it is such a great read and beautifully written. I highly recommend this book. I really look forward to reading the sequel!

