okay

The Fault in our Stars by John Green was the book that got me back into reading a year or two ago. I had heard so much about this book and the movie was already out on DVD before I got around to reading it. It was the first book I had read just for fun in quite a few years. Being a Liberal Arts major in college I was assigned many books to read for class, so I never really had time to read a book just to enjoy it. I really wanted to watch the movie, but I told myself I had to read the book before I could see it. I was so glad I did that. This book was such a great read. I had to force myself to put it down because I didn’t want it to end too soon. There were other times where I was reading it and what I had just read I had to set the book down and just pause on the last sentence I read because it was just so good.

The story is about Hazel Grace and her cancer that was supposed to kill her, but a medical breakthrough occurred that is prolonging her life so she calls herself a ticking time bomb. Her family makes her go to a kids with cancer support group to try and make her feel better and not so alone. She doesn’t really like being there in the place the support group leader calls the “literal heart of Jesus”, but she does it to make her mom happy. She has her life all planned out, to just live her days until the cancer finally takes her. Until one day a new face appears in the support group, Augustus Waters. He was cancer-free, but he was there to support his friend who just found out he will become blind because cancer has taken both of his eyes. He talks to her as she waits for her mom to pick her up. He took her by surprise, as he stuck a cigarette in his mouth in front of her, a girl with an oxygen tank. But when he didn’t light it and told her it was just a metaphor, by not lighting the thing that could kill him, he had charmed his way into her life.

He makes Hazel love life again and gives her the confidence to do things she didn’t ever see herself doing before. This story makes you want to live life to it’s fullest, because in reality none of us know when we are going to die, so take full advantage of the life you are given. I loved this book, it was such a genuine story. You will laugh through this book and you most definitely will weep. It’s one of those books that while you aren’t reading it, you wish you were and once you are reading it, you don’t want it to end. When you finish it, it will stay with you. John Green’s writing style is wonderful and really speaks to the reader. It is an all around wonderful book.

